What Reading Level Is Your Bible? The Answer Might Surprise You

Did you know that the translation of your Bible has a reading level? In other words, some translations are moreth difficulteth to readeth. 🙂

Here’s a list of translations and their suggested reading level:

  • King James Version (KJV): 12th grade
  • Revised Standard Version (RSV): 12th grade
  • New American Standard Bible (NASB): 11th grade
  • New Revised Standard Version (RNSV): 11th grade
  • English Standard Version (ESV): 10th grade
  • New International Version (NIV): 8th grade
  • Holman Christian Standard Version (HCSV): 8th grade
  • New King James Version (NKJV): 7th grade
  • New Living Translation (NLT): 6th grade
  • God’s Word (GW): 5th grade
  • The Message (MSG): 5th grade
  • New Century Version (NCV): 3rd grade

Which translation do you enjoy?

*Photo courtesy of here